California 3 Feet Clearance Law



3 Feet Clearance Law Helps Make Bicycling Safer For Santa Ana Trail Users


A bill requiring drivers to give bicyclists 3 feet of clearance when passing was signed into California law Monday by Gov. Jerry Brown. The law was promoted by the California Bicycling Coalition as “Give Me 3.


Existing law requires drives to pass while keeping at a “safe distance,” but the new law establishes exactly what that distance is: 3 feet.


The law requires drivers who pass cyclists from behind to keep their vehicles 3 feet away. If traffic or roadway conditions prevent motorists from giving cyclists 3 feet of clearance, drivers must “slow to a speed that is reasonable and prudent” and only pass when the cyclist will not be endangered.


Violations are punishable by a $35 base fine, which comes to $154 with additional fees, according to the California Bicycle Coalition. Drivers who collide with cyclists and injure them while violating the law will be subject to a $220 fine.


Get Pro-Active. If a vehicle get too close to you, write down their license plate and email to local police department.


The California 3 feet clearance law will make it safer for bicyclists entering and exiting the Santa Ana River Trail.


For additional information on the New 3 feet Clearance Law, go to the California Bicycle Coalition website at https://calbike.org/advocacy/giveme3/


Matthews's Change https://sites.google.com/site/matthewschange/change-the-banner